top of page

IABCA 2017

The 2017 India Australia Business and Community Alliance Have Officially Come to a Close.


Having taken place in the glamorous surroundings of Brisbane CIty Hall, the night of Friday the 13th of October was a magical celebration of the Australia India Relationship the likes of which have never been seen before.


Several dignitaries from both the Australian and Indian Government were present to personally voice their support towards the Australia India Relationship as well as celebrate the success stories of the Diaspora, our IABCA Winners. 


Among Dignitaries were:


  • The Honourable Senator Zed Seselja, Minister for Social Services and Multicultural Affairs, Representing the Prime Minister of Australia, The Honourable Malcolm Turnbull MP.

  • Senator Murray Watt, Senator for Queensland, Representing the Leader of the Opposition the Honourable Bill Shorten MP.

  • His Excellency Dr. A.M. Gondane, High Commissioner of India to Australia.

  • Her Excellency Ms. Harinder Sidhu, High Commissioner of Australia to India.

  • The Honourable Jackie Trad MP, Deputy Premier of Queensland, Minister for Transport of Queensland, Minister for Infrastructure and Planning of Queensland.

  • Mr. Steve Minnikin MP, Shadow Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships and Multicultural Affairs, Representing the Leader of the Opposition the Honourable Tim Nicholls MP.

  • Lord Mayor of Brisbane, Graham Quirk.

  • Honorary Consul of India in Queensland, Archana Singh.

  • Sheba Nandkeolyar, National Chair, AIBC.

  • Dean Warren, CEO, Australian Football League Queensland.

  • Max Walters, CEO, Queensland Cricket, Cricket Australia.

  • Jim Varghese AM, Vice President, Australia India Business Council.

  • C. Sarat Chandran, Director, Indo Australian Chamber of Commerce.



Additionally, to truly close of the awards process, a winner was crowned for all 12 of our categories as well as the non-contested, most coveted Indian-Australian Ambassador of the Year Award.

To see the 2017 IABCA Winners Please Click Here



We would like to extend our humblest congratulations to all of our winners, finalists, youth ambassadors, panel of experts, and everyone who engaged with the IABCA Platfform in 2017. We could not have done it without your support and working with you has only made us more excited for IABCA 2018.


We thank the Queensland Government for their support of both the awards process and the Australia India Relationship. We look forward to a long and fruitful relationship between IABCA and the Sunshine State.


If you wish to volunteer for any of our events please click here.

bottom of page